Work with a firm who treats you like a family member and no stone is left unturned.
New Jersey Traffic Crime Attorneys
Seasoned Defense Representation in Morristown and Essex County
The state of New Jersey imposes harsh penalties when enforcing traffic crimes. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, a conviction can result in imprisonment, exorbitant fines, increased insurance premiums, and a loss of driving privileges.
Our New Jersey traffic crime lawyers have over 75 years of combined defense and prosecutorial experience and are ready to go to work for you. We know how to approach many types of charges, including DWI, reckless driving, and driving without insurance. At Whipple Azzarello, LLC, we have a strong track record of delivering favorable results and are widely respected by judges and prosecutors. No matter the charge, we will work closely with you to explore all available defense options and will stop at nothing to secure the best possible outcome in your case.
If you are facing these criminal charges, your rights and freedom may be at stake. Contact us online or call (973) 434-7788 to schedule a free initial consultation.
“His commitment to excellence cannot be replicated.” - James B.
“A tough, fearless and savvy federal criminal defense attorney.” - Joseph A.
“Excellent attorney” - Martindale Reviewer
Types of Traffic Crimes in New Jersey
A grand majority of traffic crimes are tried at the state level. The federal government may prosecute a traffic crime if the offense occurred on federal property.
Our New Jersey traffic crime attorneys can defend you in cases involving:
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). It is unlawful to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other mind-altering substance. The state aggressively prosecutes DWI cases, and a first offense can result in up to 30 days of jail time, up to $500 fines, and other penalties. A second DWI offense that occurs within 10 years of the first offense can result in a 2-year license suspension, up to 90 days in jail, and up to $1,000 in fines. If a third offense occurs within 10 years of the second offense, a conviction may result in a 10-year license suspension, up to 180 days in jail, and up to $1,000 in fines.
- Reckless Driving. Someone commits the crime of reckless driving if they deliberately endanger other motorists and pedestrians through careless and negligent conduct. Excessive speeding, intentionally ignoring traffic signals, and other dangerous behaviors may trigger these charges. A first offense can result in up to 60 days in jail and up to $200 in fines. A second offense can result in up to 90 days in jail and up to $500 in fines. A conviction may also result in a suspended license.
- Driving without Insurance. All motorists in New Jersey are required to carry a certain amount of auto insurance. If someone drives without the necessary insurance coverage, they can lose driving privileges for up to a year and face up to $1,000 in fines. A second offense can result in up to 14 days of imprisonment, up to $5,000 in fines, a 2-year license suspension, and other penalties.
- Driving without a License. You can be fined if you do not have your driver’s license on your person when driving. If you do not have a driver’s license at all, your vehicle may be impounded, and you may face up to 60 days in jail as well as up to $500 in fines. A convicted offender will also not be able to procure a driver’s license for at least 6 months.
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License. It is unlawful for a driver to operate a vehicle while their license is suspended or if their license has been revoked. A first offense can result in up to $500 in fines and an additional license suspension of up to 6 months. For a second offense, penalties include up to 5 days of jail time, up to $1,000 in fines, and another license suspension of up to 6 months. Third and subsequent offenses can result in up to 10 days of jail time, up to $1,000 in fines, and an additional license suspension of up to 6 months.
How New Jersey’s Points System Can Affect Your Driving Privileges
In addition to prosecuting traffic crimes, New Jersey assesses “points” to your driving record every time you commit a traffic violation. You will be fined if you accumulate 6 or more points within a rolling 3-year period. Your license will be temporarily suspended if you accumulate 12 or more points.
3 points are automatically removed from your record for each year in which you do not commit a violation. You can also remove 2 points from your record every 5 years if you complete a qualifying defensive driving course.
Many basic traffic violations, such as failing to signal, will result in 2 points being added to your record. While you may be tempted to pay a ticket associated with a minor violation and move on, it is important that you consider fighting every alleged offense. Points can add up fast, and you may breach the suspension threshold if you are implicated in a more serious traffic crime. Offenses like reckless driving carry 5-point penalties, for example.
Our team at Whipple Azzarello, LLC is committed to protecting your interests in and out of the courtroom, and our New Jersey traffic crime lawyers are ready to help you fight all types of infractions, violations, and crimes. We will evaluate all steps that can be taken to preserve your driving record and help you avoid the consequences associated with license suspensions.
Get the tailored attention your case deserves. Call (973) 434-7788 or contact us online today!