Work with a firm who treats you like a family member and no stone is left unturned.
New Jersey Violent Crime Attorneys
Dedicated Legal Advocacy in Morristown and Essex County
Both the state of New Jersey and the federal government aggressively prosecute a variety of violent crimes. A conviction can result in life-altering consequences, including life imprisonment for some offenses.
Our New Jersey violent crime lawyers have over 75 years of combined legal experience and have worked on both sides of the bench. We have a complete knowledge of how these cases are adjudicated, and our team at Whipple Azzarello, LLC is committed to protecting your rights and freedom. No matter the nature or severity of your charges, we will build a comprehensive defense and fiercely advocate for you every step of the way. Our firm is made up of capable litigators who will do everything possible to secure a favorable result in your case.
If you have been charged with any type of violent crime, do not wait to seek legal representation. Call (973) 434-7788 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation.
“His commitment to excellence cannot be replicated.” - James B.
“A tough, fearless and savvy federal criminal defense attorney.” - Joseph A.
“Excellent attorney” - Martindale Reviewer
When you are charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, your future is at stake. If you are convicted of a violent offense, you will in many cases be subject to the state’s No Early Release Act. This law stipulates that violent offenders must serve at least 85% of their sentences before they become eligible for parole. Our team at Whipple Azzarello, LLC will work tirelessly to help you avoid these outcomes and protect your interests.
Our New Jersey violent crime attorneys can defend you if you have been charged with:
- Assault. Simple assault occurs when someone causes bodily injury to another person. This offense also refers to situations where someone threatens bodily injury. Aggravated assault covers scenarios involving more serious bodily injuries and/or the use of a deadly weapon. A simple assault conviction can result in up to 6 months of jail time, a fine of up to $1,000, and other consequences. Aggravated assault is typically considered a felony and be charged as a crime of the fourth, third, or second degree. A second-degree conviction can result in up to 15 years of prison time and fines of up to $150,000.
- Domestic Violence. Assault, harassment, stalking, trespassing, homicide, and other offenses can all be considered “domestic violence” crimes if the victim was a romantic partner, former romantic partner, or member of the perpetrator’s household. In addition to each underlying offense’s standard penalties, a domestic violence conviction can result in a loss of firearm rights, a loss of child custody, restraining orders, and restitution.
- Kidnapping. Kidnapping is an especially serious offense that can be charged as a second-degree or first-degree crime in New Jersey. The crime is considered a second-degree offense if the victim is unharmed and released by the perpetrator. First-degree charges generally apply if the victim is harmed or is freed by anyone other than the perpetrator. Second-degree kidnapping charges carry a maximum sentence of 30 years if the state tries the case as a first-degree felony. First-degree kidnapping charges carry a maximum sentence of life imprisonment. The federal government will also in some cases prosecute kidnappers when the criminal activity crosses state lines. A conviction in a federal case can result in life imprisonment or even the death penalty.
- Manslaughter. Manslaughter is distinct from murder and occurs when someone accidentally kills another person due to reckless or negligent conduct. In New Jersey, manslaughter can be charged as a first-degree or second-degree crime. A first-degree conviction can result in a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment.
- Murder. Someone commits murder when they deliberately kill another person. This offense is always charged as a first-degree crime in New Jersey, and a conviction can result in life imprisonment. Aggravating circumstances can also result in capital murder charges. Felony murder charges may be pursued if the crime was committed in connection with another offense, such as robbery.
- Rape. A person commits rape, or sexual assault, when they sexually penetrate another person who does not or cannot give consent. Someone may be charged with aggravated sexual assault if the crime was committed in connection with another felony offense (such as robbery or kidnapping), a deadly weapon was used, the victim was under 13 years of age, or if one of several other aggravating factors was involved. Absent aggravating factors, sexual assault is a second-degree crime with a maximum sentence of 10 years imprisonment and fines of up to $150,000. Aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime, and a conviction may result in up to 20 years of prison time and fines of up to $200,000.
- Robbery. Someone commits the crime of robbery if they steal something through the use of or under the threat of violence. Armed robbery and carjacking are two common examples. In New Jersey, robbery offenses are charged as second-degree crimes if no one is seriously harmed and a deadly weapon was not used. A robbery offense can become a first-degree crime if someone was killed, someone was seriously injured, or if a deadly weapon was used. Maximum penalties include up to 20 years in prison and up to $200,000 in fines.
- Vehicular Homicide. A person can be charged with vehicular homicide if they kill someone as the result of reckless driving. Driving may be considered “reckless” if the motorist was speeding, failing to obey traffic signals, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A second-degree charge may result in up to 10 years of prison time and a $150,000 fine.
Discuss your defense with our team by calling (973) 434-7788 or contacting us online. Payment plans are available.